Minbari Mondays, And Now For A Word: Defend

      This  week reports an incident from Saturday, September 16th, of our year 2259 CE, sent to us from our future by Ranger Mayann, stationed on  Minbar:

      Greetings, from Tuzanor:

      This day was recorded in the anals of the Anla’Shok as one of great anguish for all of us.  Even down the years, my order recalls the pain of humiliation of Ambassador Delenn, and the pain of seeing so many lives wasted so brutally.  She spoke for the innocents, even after being played for an innocent by a brutal Human.  Your reporter, like her later counterpart, deliberately made our ambassador look badly.  Yet, she arose and defended the Narn innocents being slaughtered with courage, and with honor.  And with the astuteness we see when she goes on to lead my order.  The Centauri were indeed on the path to committing war crimes, with their mass drivers, that day.  Yet, the voice of G’Kar went unheard.

To our shame.

      At the end of this terrible day, Delenn recovered, and reminded us all that you Humans have the great gift of building communities, and are responsible to use that gift.  Keep building your communities. 

We are all in need of you. 

 

Writing from Tuzanor, on Minbar

Earth year 2278,

Anla’Shok Mayann

     Shira’s addendum to Ranger Mayann’s report: 

     A word, or or a phrase, can bind us down the centuries.  Words like “Never Again.”   And also words like “a long line…”   That would be the line of our spiritual ancestors reminding us that duty comes in more than one form.  I think of this as “The Long Gray Line” episode.  That speech to the corps of cadets at West Point moves me to tears every time I read it. 

     Even if I now feel differently about much of Gen. Macarthur’s intent in that speech, it still never fails to stir awe at a man facing the twilight of his life, and looking forward to becoming part of that long line of those who admonish us to “make my life have meaning” in ways that do not involve the indiscriminate shedding of blood.  There is honor in defending the truth, defending those who, like this day’s Narn refugees, cannot defend themselves, and in defending peace.

     I still mourn the loss of those ideals in our society.  Already, in 1988 when I entered the US Naval Academy as a Midshipman 4th Class, it was clear that my classmates, upon commissioning in 1992, would hold very values different from those cadets of West Points addressed back in 1962, and not for the better.  That a soldier prays for peace, not a word in our time, when cadences were called glorifying brutality against “kids” and a plebe refusing to call those cadences could be punished, rather than complimented.  Nearly 40 years later, we see the shape of our new values, and I wonder how we can remember to defend the innocent, and to pray for peace, as the soldier described by the General does.

 

Last week’s review was of the season 2, episode 14: There All the Honor Lies,

Next week’s review will be (in Lurker’s Guide order) Knives

-Shira Destinie Jones

Shira

Nih sakh sh’lekk, sleem wa.

I come in peace, I am your friend.

There are earlier episodes, as part of a letter on the history of the Babylon Project.  

Action Prompts:

1.)  Share your thoughts on how we Human Beings might start to build a more fully inclusive society for all of us, and how this episode of Babylon 5 could help that process.

2.) Write a book, story, post or comment here that uses these thoughts.

Nih sakh sh’lekk, sleem wa.

Shira Destinie A. Jones, MPhil, MAT, BSCS

***************** 

Click here to read, if you are interested in:

 

Holistic College Algebra & GED/HiSET Night School Lesson Plans,

           or 

My Nonfiction  & Historical Fiction Serial Writing

Thoughtful Readers, please consider reading about #ProjectDoBetter.

Shira Destinie A. Jones, MPhil, MAT, BsCs

Shira Destinie Jones’ work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.



About ShiraDestProjectDoBetter

Shira Destinie Jones is founder of #ProjectDoBetter, a long term plan proposal for community building, and a published poet, academic author, and advocate for improving our #PublicDomainInfrastructure. Her other book, Stayed on Freedom's Call, on Black-Jewish Cooperation in DC, is freely available via the Internet Archive. She has organized community events such as film discussions, multi-ethnic song events, and cooperative presentations, and is a native of Washington, DC. She promotes peaceful planning, NVC and the Holocene Calendar, and is also a writer. More information at https://shiradest.wordpress.com/

33 thoughts on “Minbari Mondays, And Now For A Word: Defend

  1. “… values different from those cadets of West Points addressed back in 1962…”

    Indeed, we, of the Anla’Shok also face this problem with our brethren of the Minbari warrior caste. It is the chief reason that we train apart from them.

    We live for the One, we die for the One,

    Anla’Shok Mayann

    Liked by 5 people

    1. I think I might do that. It definitely turns on a part of military history that is ignored, except for times like my Plebe Summer, when plebes commit suicide due to parental pressures not to come home.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. “I still mourn the loss of those ideals in our society. Already, in 1988 when I entered the US Naval Academy as a Midshipman 4th Class, it was clear that my classmates, upon commissioning in 1992, would hold very values different from those cadets of West Points addressed back in 1962, and not for the better. That a soldier prays for peace, not a word in our time, when cadences were called glorifying brutality against “kids” and a plebe refusing to call those cadences could be punished, rather than complimented. Nearly 40 years later, we see the shape of our new values”

    Maybe this should have been a comment?

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Annoyingly, I have been considering writing another narrative short, working title of “Three Little Words: If Necessary, Sir.” for quite some time. Now I see why it is taking me so long to write about Annapolis, given the large amount of context involved.

      Ok, so, starting with this part of my review of a book which drew a question:

      ” My own sense of honor back at that time demanded that I stand up to several upperclassmen telling me to be gung-ho about unnecessary killing and singing cadences about napalm sticking to kids. The upperclassmen decided that I was too squeemish to be in ‘their’ navy.”

      The immediate situation was that the plebettes in my company and another company had been sent to a self-defense class, while our male classmates got to go box while watching us fall on a mat, rather annoyingly for most of us (women). Upon return to 2nd co area, a certain upperclassman (one who spent weeks ordering me to “Get civilian eye glasses, Miss Jones!” after my updated prescription navy issue “b/c eyeglasses” came in, btw, which I hope that current plebes, as future upperclassman, will never stand by and allow a classmate to do to a female plebe…) asked me

      -“So, Miss Jones, now you know ten different ways to kill a man, right?” and

      I replied

      -“If necessary, Sir.”

      At which point, hit a bulkhead, lots of yelling and more upperclassmen arriving to help out their classmate pounding on the wall behind my head, at least one yelling that “If you have problems with killing then I don’t want you in my navy.”

      This happened at that time, and a very similar event when the same upperclassman (yes, class of 90) was asking our squad rates about the Code of Conduct. He asked me something like “and we obey orders, article” 5 or 6, and I said something like “Yes sir, except for illegal orders, Sir.” and once again found a cloud of upperclassmen yelling at me, until I finally asked permission to speak, which was granted, and I explained that our job was to defend the Constitution, protect the civilian population, and project US sea power in order to prevent unnecessary killing. This did not obtain a good response from them.

      It also shocked me.

      I had been in both Jr. ROTC and the Civil Air Patrol (National Capitol wing under Col. Ronald A. Quander, an exceptionally good man, who was also a Spanish teacher at my high school), and in both cases, leadership manuals discussed the concept of Noblesse Oblige and careful thought about the orders one passes down to subordinates, lessons learned from the Nuremberg trials, the Articles of War, Geneva Conventions, and responsibility of an officer to take care of his subordinates while being respectful to the duties of command. The most inspirational speeches I recalled in High School were those of General Macarthur at West Point ( -I’d forgotten that I have a USNA tag on my blog that leads to this and other Annapolis related posts…), and Dr. King, of course, and that dream King spoke of seemed almost the same, to me, as the general’s “long grey line” in that the demands of duty and honor required both understanding of our history, and willingness to see our enemies as human beings, and not to waste lives needlessly. But no one at Annapolis seemed to find these ideas important, when I got there. It was devastating to see that the noble officer corps I had imagined was not there, at least in that Place at that time.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Good question. I no longer have any idea what was meant to be linked, or why.

          I’m posting a quote from a fellow Black blogger who is a RPCV, now travelling, with a good idea that I had no clue you could do: ” I keep my debit card turned off, while traveling. So, once I’m in a new country, I need WiFi to turn it back on. ”

          1.) buy a GlocalMe hotspot,
          2.) get the wifi on to the phone is set,
          (this part was left unsaid…) 2.5) go to your online banking app, obviously?…
          3.) unlock debit card
          4.) find an ATM to withdraw local currency

          Hmm, but that is only if you are going to be doing a lot of impromptu travel in various countries, unplanned, since your bank can likely give you a better rate on the currency of the country you plan to visit before you leave home.

          Like

Please Share your Thoughts