Language Learning and Note Taking Online?

I’ve noticed that when I study a language, I go through quite a lot of paper, and that pains me. Both for the trees and also for the final product, which is a notebook, or actually usually several notebooks, full of notes that are almost entirely useless, at least to me, once I’ve finished learning the language, because once I get past the intermediate stage, I use videos and books in the target language to move through B1, B2, C1, and C2 stages. Ok, so far I’ve only gotten to C2 with Spanish and French, and I do not have notes for either language, but still, for my other languages, it pains me to have notebooks with drawings and grammar/vocabulary diagrams and mind maps, with nothing to do with them once I’ve learned the lessons in those notes. So, I’m going to try, also for the sake of helping out other language learners, to take my notes nearly entirely online, as I learn my next language(s), or at least as much as I can. The problem is that when I am not at my desk, I can’t type, so I can’t really take notes except with paper and pencil/pen. The other problem is that I personally learn better by writing out my notes by hand, as I am a kinesthetic learner. So I’m not sure how well this idea of taking my notes online will really work, unless I figure out some way to take my notes by hand while filming it, if that is possible, which may not be, since I do not have a tripod and all of that stuff that folks use to film their writing or drawing sessions. Actually, I have no idea how to do that, so if anyone is interested in my language learning process and has suggestions for how I can take my notes while transmitting them, or maybe transmuting them, into digital form, please drop me a comment here. There is more on language learning as an empathy building tool here, and also more thoughts are available on my main page, on the menu above this post, about learning via TV and film, as well as notes from more traditional learning methods. This sharing is part of Project Do Better, as both the linked post and the mentioned page will explain.

Shira

About ShiraDestProjectDoBetter

Shira Destinie Jones is founder of #ProjectDoBetter, a long term plan proposal for community building, and a published poet, academic author, and advocate for improving our #PublicDomainInfrastructure. Her other book, Stayed on Freedom's Call, on Black-Jewish Cooperation in DC, is freely available via the Internet Archive. She has organized community events such as film discussions, multi-ethnic song events, and cooperative presentations, and is a native of Washington, DC. She promotes peaceful planning, NVC and the Holocene Calendar, and is also a writer. More information at https://shiradest.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “Language Learning and Note Taking Online?

    1. Hmm, pretty much, as my notes are still on paper, although I’m finding that I need to take far fewer notes, since most of Portuguese maps nearly directly onto Spanish (except for phrases like ‘pequeno amorco,’ which translates directly from the french ‘petite dejuner’ except that the words are from the Spanish ‘pequeño almuerzo’ -making the phrase an exceptionally interesting example of how this language appears to be a mix of both languages to the north and south of Portugal! But to return to your comment, I am finding that I need less of the beginner process with this language than with previous lanauges, and so I may be able to mostly skip the writing notes stages.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. It has a few, but not really many, as it sounds entirely different from French or from Spanish, even with the Brazilian speakers, but with those from Portugal, especially from the north of Portugal, it sounds not at all like either language, despite the close relations, and the evidence in the written form.

          Liked by 1 person

Please Share your Thoughts