Understanding the need to repeat and frame Values

(reblogged from post “Understanding Trump” by George Lakoff ):

“Effective respectful policing is a public resource.”

Peace Officers, as DancingPalmTrees put it, are an integral part of our freedoms.

Further, he says: “Give a positive truthful framing to undermine claims to the contrary. Use the facts to support positively-framed truth. Use repetition.

Second, start with values, not policies and facts and numbers. Say what you believe, but haven’t been saying. For example, progressive thought is built on empathy, on citizens caring about other citizens and working through our government to provide public resources for all, both businesses and individuals. Use history. That’s how America started. The public resources used by businesses were not only roads and bridges, but public education, a national bank, a patent office, courts for business cases, interstate commerce support, and of course the criminal justice system. From the beginning, the Private Depended on Public Resources, both private lives and private enterprise.

Over time those resources have included sewers, water and electricity, research universities and research support: computer science (via the NSF), the internet (ARPA), pharmaceuticals and modern medicine (the NIH), satellite communication (NASA and NOA), and GPS systems and cell phones (the Defense Department). Private enterprise and private life utterly depend on public resources. Have you ever said this? Elizabeth Warren has. Almost no other public figures. And stop defending “the government.” Talk about the public, the people, Americans, the American people, public servants, and good government. And take back freedom. Public resources provide for freedom in private enterprise and private life.”

Now, please go read, digest, and share his original post…

Peace, Shira  6 August, 12016 HE  (the Universal Holocene Calendar)

George Lakoff

Understanding Trump

By George Lakoff

There is a lot being written and spoken about Trump by intelligent and articulate commentators whose insights I respect. But as a longtime researcher in cognitive science and linguistics, I bring a perspective from these sciences to an understanding of the Trump phenomenon. This perspective is hardly unknown. More than half a million people have read my books, and Google Scholar reports that scholars writing in scholarly journals have cited my works well over 100,000 times.

Yet you will probably not read what I have to say in the NY Times, nor hear it from your favorite political commentators. You will also not hear it from Democratic candidates or party strategists. There are reasons, and we will discuss them later I this piece. I am writing it because I think it is right and it is needed, even though it comes from the cognitive and…

View original post 5,557 more words

One thought on “Understanding the need to repeat and frame Values

  1. A dark time indeed for our Republic, and I am partly to blame:

    I looked down on them
    White, male, uneducated
    If I could do it
    Surely they could have.

    I envied them
    My suffering trumps theirs
    How could they, in their privilege
    Have suffered as much as I.

    I denied them
    My anger so legitimate
    How could their anger
    Ever by justified.

    Thus, in my arrogance
    In my pride of suffering
    In my selfish backlash
    I am also partly to blame.

    I only hope that we do not go the way of Franco, Pinochet, Erdogan…
    Shira
    November 10th, 12016 HE

    Liked by 1 person

Please Share your Thoughts

