Running, Writing, Relaxing, and Belonging?

I find that anger can often be useful, if I follow it back to the source and then look to see how I can fix the problem.  This week, I was feeling frustrated for a variety of reasons, and wanting to do more running than my current running plan seems to allow, since I lost 9 weeks due to illness.  I had assumed that that blew my GreenMarathon plans out the window.

In a fit of pique, and irritation with myself for being unable to finish the detailed planning for my short story, I searched and found, Lo and Behold, a 41 Week walk-run Marathon Plan shown on PBS (that looks safe enough to jump 41MarathonVert2016 into) after losing my running base!   🙂

So now I can relax, if I could only figure out how to do that.  My usual way of relaxing is to read something interesting (or watch an episode of Sihirli Annem (My Magical Mother) and share it with someone who might enjoy it, but that hasn’t worked lately.   So I go back to the question of how to relax if one feels alone?  Feeling lonely can make it difficult to smile.

Which brings me to the sense of belonging, or the lack thereof.  How does one develop a sense of belonging (without joining a cult or accepting the first marriage offer) when one lacks family and does not have a strong sense of cultural identity?  You can try borrowing other people’s stories, but that doesn’t always work.

Any suggestions, friends?

In Solidarity with All Kind People,
Peace via Cooperation and Non-Cooperation,
ShiraDest
12th of December, 12015 HE

4 thoughts on “Running, Writing, Relaxing, and Belonging?

  1. I suppose that you must learn to feel good with yourself only and to realize that you don’t need someone to make you feel like you belong. Even though I’m surrounded with family and some friends I often feel like you and I can’t speak to them about it because they will never understand. Give yourself a bit of time and enjoy doing things by yourself! Ánimo! ❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi. I sit with the same issue. I guess that is why I started blogging, for some sort of intelligent conversation. I’m not close to my family and have difficulty making friends. I recently (five years ago!!) moved to a new location and found it impossible to slot in anywhere, although I tried. My views are very different to the community where I landed up and of course I can’t go back to old beliefs or world views. Not that it was that different in the city.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Share your Thoughts

