Review of Jour de silence à Tanger by Tahar Ben Jelloun

CheckOut This Book on WorldCat

Jour de silence à TangerJour de silence à Tanger by Tahar Ben Jelloun

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a fascinating read, with a beautiful ending. It touched on relationships between generations, races, friends and family. A short yet complex read, very well-written. It is making me re-think the reasons that a person might appear to mistreat those around him, even those upon whom he depends. More than once, I wondered if I may have been unjust toward some of those close to me whom I had expected to ‘see’ or intuitively understand my feelings. Perhaps for some people, it is just not possible, yet those same people can want to understand. For me, this was an impossibility, prior to reading Ben Jalloun. How could a person not understand that his words have power, and that his words can and do indeed do harm? Yet perhaps some simply do not see it, even if they want to. Time for me to learn to be more understanding?

(Too tired but will translate into French soon…)

ShiraDest
1st December, 12015 HE

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review of Jour de silence à Tanger by Tahar Ben Jelloun

  1. We can always be more understanding even though at times is hard. However it really depends who is that person and what have they done to you because sometimes is better to just leave some people behind even though they might be family or people that you once known.

    Liked by 2 people

Please Share your Thoughts

